League directory / Europe
Sweden basketball leagues
Checked 2026-10-31FIBA code SWE
The top men's tier is SBL Herr with Superettan Herr below it, both run under the federation. A 2024 board decision set two teams relegated and two promoted between them from 2025-26. Licence counts for 2026-27 are conditional, so team counts are left null.
National federation: Swedish Basketball Federation.
SBL Herr
Men's tier 1. Status: Partly sourced.
- Run by
- Swedish Basketball Federation · Official site
- Teams
- Not yet verified
- Season
- Not yet verified
- Foreign player rule
- Not yet verified
- Promotion and relegation
- After the regular season two teams go down to Superettan and two come up. Model announced 2024-03-25 for 2025-26 onward. · Source
Clubs, 2026-27
Single table. 11 licensed clubs, conditional on sporting qualification.
- BC Luleå
- Borås Basket
- Högsbo BK
- Jämtland Basket
- Köping Basket
- Norrköping Basket
- Nässjö Basket
- Sloga
- Södertälje BBK
- Umeå BSKT
- Uppsala Basket KFUM
Conditional approvals, not a final list. Count of 11 differs from the 14-club model in the Phase 1 file. Cities not stated.
Superettan Herr
Men's tier 2. Status: Partly sourced.
- Run by
- Swedish Basketball Federation · Official site
- Teams
- 14 · Source
- Season
- Not yet verified
- Foreign player rule
- Not yet verified
- Promotion and relegation
- Not yet verified
Clubs, 2026-27
Single table of 14 clubs.
- AIK
- Alvik
- Crossover Basketball
- Djurgården
- IK Eos
- Eskilstuna
- Fryshuset
- Huddinge
- Malbas
- Norrort
- Ockelbo
- Sollentuna
- Trelleborg Pirates
- Wetterbygden Stars
Names as on the basketettan page. The licence page lists 15 clubs and also names Aros Basket, so the counts differ. Cities not stated.
SBL Dam
Women's tier 1. Status: Not yet verified.
- Run by
- Swedish Basketball Federation · Official site
- Teams
- Not yet verified
- Season
- Not yet verified
- Foreign player rule
- Not yet verified
- Promotion and relegation
- Not yet verified
Clubs: Not yet verified.
Federation page lists 11 licensed SBL Herr clubs, conditional on sporting qualification, versus a 14-club model, so teams left null. Superettan Herr 14 per basketettan page; the licence page says 15.
Rules change each season and clubs apply them differently. Confirm any figure with the league or federation before you rely on it. This is education, not legal or tax advice. See a figure that is out of date? Send a correction with the source link.
Next: build your question list for a Sweden offer, work out take-home pay or read how overseas contracts work.

